Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting The Well. We'd love to have your feedback!

San Antonio

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to The Well and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Smendes7997148 7 days ago

Dreamy Banana Pudding

SO GOOD‼️‼️ I love banana pudding. This is one of the best ive had. If you go, definitely have to try it. Not everybody can make a perfect banana pudding but this one here is 10/10

Sarah 28 days ago

Smoked Mac n Cheese

Perfect flavors with plenty cheese

Sarah 28 days ago

Cast-Iron Chicken Fried Steak

Tastes like a home cooked meal! With the perfectly seasoned golden crust and delightful cream gravy. Biscuits are better than grandmas 🤤

Steve about 2 months ago

Cast-Iron Chicken Fried Steak

OOPS! Submitted the following review with the wrong email address: The old adage in paraphrase says that when the water is good, one returns to the well to quench a thirst. The meaning was not lost on an analogous first time visit for lunch today to this dancehall, bar and grill in the hills east of nearby UTSA. All kinds of happy hour notices, chalk board and live music flyers greet you in Burma Shave highway sign style (that means "sequentially" to you youngsters) as you enter and proceed past the umbrella topped picnic tabled grounds, through the foyer and move into the saloon area. I call the ante-room a saloon because the wood construction, decor and long bar carries one's thoughts back to a time of swinging doors and clinking spurs on wooden floors. The electric hop-rock music soon made sure you knew, however this was not old El Paso and you were not in Rose's Cantina. . . . (see original review for the remainder).

Lmason983 about 2 months ago

Cheeseburger Salad

It was GREAT !

Sarah 28 days ago

Twice Cooked Wings

Amazing flavor and sure to please in any flavor with that creamy ranch of course

Sarah 28 days ago

Fried Okra

Best okra ever! Not sure what seasoning is used but it's perfect

Steve about 2 months ago

Crispy Chicken Sandwich

Just another day at the Well. Garlicky chicken fried with a biscuit as fresh and light (and big) as if it were just baked. How did they manage that at 2:00 in the afternoon?! Silky mashers that needed no gravy to stand up in flavor against that heavy, domineering, fried taste of the entree. Cream gravy that had cutesie written all over the half pint glass milk container that made you pick it up and use it whether you wanted too or not. And of course you wanted more of that gravy after just a little taste. The crispy chicken sammie was a bun overlapping affair that supported a mound of chipotle cole slaw jazzed up with candied japs. This clucker never knew what hit it, yet the spice was not at all overwhelming. A double fisted hold was required to maneuver this Leghorn sized hunger buster. Quick! Someone call the spud police. I think the Well just served me every available fry in a 10 mile radius. The bountiful serving of fries were served blistering hot, but so was everything else. Christmas came early with the cornucopia sized serving of great gooey gobs of golden goodness. Excellent mac! Now, try and picture the serving of mac you receive from a place like Chick-fil-a (which I really like) . . . miniscule by comparison. And the near $4 cup at CFA would extrapolate in price application to this $6 serving at some $32+ for this ultra-generous portion. Roll me out the door! Actually most of that mac went home for a later go-round. We have had it before and it reheats perfectly. Mark ye well, the food that flows from the bar / kitchen here is one for your bucket list.

Sba2023 about 2 months ago

Cast-Iron Chicken Fried Steak

The old adage in paraphrase says that when the water is good, one returns to the well to quench a thirst. The meaning was not lost on an analogous first time visit for lunch today to this dancehall, bar and grill in the hills east of nearby UTSA. All kinds of happy hour notices, chalk board and live music flyers greet you in Burma Shave highway sign style (that means "sequentially" to you youngsters) as you enter and proceed past the umbrella topped picnic tabled grounds, through the foyer and move into the saloon area. I call the ante-room a saloon because the wood construction, decor and long bar carries one's thoughts back to a time of swinging doors and clinking spurs on wooden floors. The electric hop-rock music soon made sure you knew, however this was not old El Paso and you were not in Rose's Cantina. We were here to eat and sat at a table in the cavernous dining / dance hall area. Fish and chips and chicken fried steak seemed like good bets and were both recommended. The waiter commented that they had jalapeno cream gravy if I liked it spicy. Well I'm a spice boy from way back and gave it the thumbs up. Deeply golden brown tempura style batter covered the fried cod fish pillows that bobbed on a generous sea of fresh-cut, slender french fries. Lightly creamy, crunchy coleslaw in a small plastic ramekin sized serving and some extra good, very dilly-dilly homemade tartar sauce for the fish completed the fish and chips serving. These were some prime fixins! The chicken fried was no thundering, gargantuan hoof pounder like I have had in places that specialize in cf steak that occupy the whole darn plate, but it was a pert near gristle-less, tenderized cut of "bull neck" with a crispy coating. The hot jalapeno gravy came in a grade school sized glass milk bottle for easy pouring. KOOL! Pour it over the cf I did with purposeful indulgence and the little bit of yippie-ki-yo it added to the steak made it unmistakably cowboylicious. The chuck wagon, buttermilk biscuit that accompanied the cf was no lame dogie either. Add some red-eye gravy and that rascally biscuit could be some serious eats all by its lonesome dove self! Whipped garlic potatoes still had a few small hunks of potato in them just like momma made. BBQ plates are wrangled out on Friday and Sat. nites. They also have a Sun. brunch with mimosa and bloody Mary specials and live jazz in the saloon, er . . . lounge. That's a barn burner set up of live music, grub and drinks that make me want to bring the buck-buck-bucket down for another dip at this Well again soon.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

January 2021:
Goodrich Seafood & Oyster House

December 2020:
Hallee, Pizza Sociale
Los Angeles, CA

November 2020:
Barbara, PPC Italian Restaurant
Plaistow, NH

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA